British Country Airplay’s Artist of the Week commencing August 31, 2020 is…

Rosey Cale
 
What amazes most people about Rosey is her ability to sing deep notes. Rosey’s voice is so versatile; you can hear the quality as she easily switches between the deep, strong Adele-like vocals, to something sweet and smooth like that of Taylor Swift.
 
Rosey is a Country Pop Singer/Songwriter from Pembrokeshire, South Wales.
Through her distinctive voice and forthright style, she has been capturing audiences across the UK with her musicality and lyrical honesty.
 
Having been compared to the likes of, Sara Bareilles, Shania Twain and Carrie Underwood, Rosey can’t remember when she didn’t really love music.
 
Brought up in a household with lots of singing, she recalls how she used to dance with her sister as a child, therefore feels performing was kind of in her blood.
 
“My dad used to give me piano lessons when I was small. Then I remember listening to Shania Twain when I was about 6/7 and learning all the words to ‘You’re Still The One’, and from then on I loved country music. I really got into songwriting as a teenager, so I didn’t have to talk about my feelings (a bit like my diary I suppose) – plus I was a big fan of Taylor Swift!”
 
At 19, she would attend Open Mic nights and after people heard her singing, they encouraged her to keep going.
 
“I still keep having to remind myself that it’s a job. I just feel lucky I’m able to do it.”
 
Back in 2016, Rosey released her debut EP ‘Creating Images’.  One of the tracks on the EP is “Mirror Mirror”. A deeply personal song, which was composed in such a way that expresses her thoughts on the pressures of growing up and trying to tackle the issues of body image and self-doubt.
 
In 2018, she explained the story behind the song:
“I always describe ‘Mirror Mirror’ as my triumph song. This was written a fair way into my recovery from Anorexia Nervosa, but is there as a reminder to me of the struggle I went through to get to where I am now.”
 
“After battling with Anorexia during secondary school and feeling the pressures of growing up, I wanted to fight back.  I wanted to prove to myself that the only way I was ever going to be happy was to fight what all the negative voices in my head were saying.”
 
“To do all the things I’d always wanted to do and to focus on improving what I could do. Because if we keep putting ourselves down and constantly compare ourselves to others, we’ll forget who we truly are.”
 
Check out the official music video, which Rosey says is there for anyone who wants to fight that small voice in their head that says ‘You can’t.’
 
Did you know that Rosey is also an actress?
In 2019, she performed the lead role of Emmie Price, in the UK tour of the award-winning country musical Eye Of The Storm, which also went to Hong Kong at the beginning of the year.
 
As she explains, the music for it was written by Amy Wadge, with Lisa Wright also having a hand in the soundtrack. Considering the former has worked with the likes of Kacey Musgraves and Ed Sheeran, it was understandable that Rosey took the opportunity to have a writing session with her.
 
Co-written with Wadge, Rosey released her 2018 single ‘Whiskey Than Wine’, which tells the story of her Grandfather’s relationship with alcohol following the death of her Grandmother when she was six.
 
The song was released in both English and Welsh (under the title ‘Y Gytgan Anghyflawn’) and has had numerous plays on BBC Radio Wales and BBC Radio Cymru. And Rosey has recently supported Amy Wadge at the Torch Theatre, Milford Haven.
 
This was followed by 2 more singles in both English and Welsh. In March was the Americana-inspired Alt-Rock track ‘Mary Jane’ and then in September, ‘Keeper’, a great souring ballad.
 
Rosey describes her music as pop with a country twist but has found so many different ways to write lately, that her music is changing all the time.  And as she gets older, she has become more influenced by other artists, finding support and inspiration from the ‘very small amount of musicians’ that form the local music scene.
 
With Rosey’s confident approach to often sometimes testing subject matter, it’s clear that the poise, hookiness and maturity of her songwriting heralds exciting times just around the next corner.
 
Her latest single ‘Secrets’ released in May 2020, is about the truth of betrayal and are the words she wished she had said during a difficult time in her life.
 
With the ability to put pen to paper and words to music, you’ll find many of Rosey’s songs connecting with her listeners. And we are sure there will be more to come from this young Welsh maiden.
 
So keep an eye on her website (http://www.roseycale.com/) and socials for more details.
 
Facebook: http://www.facebook.com/roseycalemusic
Twitter: https://twitter.com/RoseyCale
Instagram: https://www.instagram.com/RoseyCale/
 
Reviews
‘It’s just such a huge song’ – Bethan Elfyn, BBC Radio Wales
 
‘With the new single and EP her name will soon be known over the bridge and beyond’ – Louder Than War
 
 ‘Ah It’s lovely! It’s lovely because it’s so honest and unaffected… Beautiful, beautiful song!’ – Adam Walton about ‘Sands Of Home’, BBC Introducing Wales
 
‘Spirited broadside about an ex boyfriend, somewhere between KT Tunstall and Ed Sheeran’ – Buzz Magazine
 
‘…Like the afterglow of whiskey, this song will leave you feeling warm inside.’  – Laura Mallinson about ‘Whiskey Than Wine’
 
Music
https://www.youtube.com/channel/UC9cqYrzrmC67QoUJVI1OuaQ
https://open.spotify.com/artist/5FdKvA9hu07PspTMylQY3V
https://soundcloud.com/rosey-cale
https://music.apple.com/us/artist/rosey-cale/1154302867?at=1l3vwYf
https://www.deezer.com/en/artist/60995422

Leave a comment

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑