AN INTERVIEW INTRODUCING YOU TO UK ARTIST ZOE NEWTON

Happy Monday!


This week’s interview is from UK based singer/ song-writer Zoe Newton. Zoe is a new artist to us and this interview I am very excited to be bringing to you all.

I hope you enjoy getting to know Zoe just as much as I did.

 

Hey Zoe – Thank you so much for agreeing to do this interview with me.

I hope you’re well.

Thank you so much for letting me be involved!

Firstly, I would like you to introduce yourselves to our readers?​

​​I am a country musician from Bristol with americana and alt-country influences that give my music a nostalgic, melancholic feel. I’ve recently released my second EP, If I Could, which tells the story of the past four years of my life, including moving from the countryside to a city, losing friends, making friends and, of course, having my heart broken. I love performing, and have been gigging in the South West for six years now, with a performance at Nashville’s Bluebird Cafe mixed in!

How old were you were you decided to start writing your own songs? And when did you write and perform your first song?​

When I was 12 I started to rewrite Taylor Swift lyrics to better fit what I was going through until I realised I could write my own songs. My first song was terrible but if I had never written it, I wouldn’t have written the songs that I’m proud of today!

Where did you first perform any of yours songs and how old were you?​

My first performance was in a lovely pub in Bristol when I was about 15 and all my friends came for moral support. I sped through my set in about 6 minutes…thankfully I’m a lot more comfortable on stage now!

What is your favourite country song and who is your favourite country artist (can be more than one)?​

I’m really inspired by country musicians and songwriters like Lori McKenna, Brandy Clark, and Miranda Lambert because I love how their songs tell stories. My favourite country song is probably The Time I’ve Wasted by Lori McKenna because it’s so emotional and personal, I don’t think there’s anyone who couldn’t relate to it in some way, which is something I always aim for in my own writing. I love her conversational and reflective style, especially in that song. Teardrops on my Guitar by Taylor Swift will always have a special place in my heart though as it was the first country song I really loved!

What is the most inspirational song you have heard?​

I love how positive and inspirational Dolly Parton’s Better Get to Livin’ is. It always puts some pep in my step when I need it the most and helps to put things into perspective.

Now to talk about your music and plans for 2019​

So, earlier this year you released your single No Fun which is definitely a song that people get to know you, so I was wondering is will you be releasing more music throughout 2019?

If so, when can we expect it?

No Fun is definitely a window into my mind and I’m so pleased with the reaction it’s received! I’m hoping to release more music like that later this year from a brand new project I’m writing for at the moment. Until then there will be little snippets of new songs on my facebook page for people to get a taster of what’s coming next!

Thank you so much for your time, Zoe.

Thank you!

You can follow Zoe on her Social Media

Leave a comment

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑