AMERICAN IDOL SEASON 22 FINALIST EMMY RUSSELL HAS RELEASED HER NEW ORIGINAL SONG, REDEMPTION”

American Idol season 22 finalist, Emmy Russell has released her original song “Redemption” last Friday (17th May) which you can listen to here via 19 Recordings/ BMG Nashville. A hushed whisper that works its way into a complete explosion of self-expressed freedom, the hooky tune celebrates the best kind of love one can possibly hope for: the love of oneself. 

Written by Emmy along with Lauren McLamb and Rob Sewell, the meditative song finds the singer-songwriter reflecting on a trying past relationship and, more specifically is a deep dive into how she’s come to find self-love and acceptance amid turmoil.

“I wrote ‘Redemption’ because I process life through music and this song is what came out of a painful breakup,” Emmy Russell says. “There was a time when I placed all my value in someone else’s hands. But, eventually, I had to realize I was constantly being tossed between ‘I love you’ and ‘I don’t love you,’ I wrote this song with Lauren McLamb & Rob Sewell. This song represents my decision to no longer be the person you come back to when it’s convenient. My telling him ‘it’s over,’. I found my redemption in being alone and admitting to myself, ‘I don’t deserve this,’ which lead me to a door I’d been craving to open… I finally realized my worth by looking to God, then letting the truth that ‘I am loved,’ sink in. Now I know, no guy, nor anyone else, can take that away from me. I am loved and, now, that’s my redemption.”

A 25-year-old Nashville native Emmy, a descendant of music royalty as the granddaughter of the late country legend Loretta Lynn became an instant fan-favorite on Idol following the viral audition performance of her evocative, self-penned and incredibly revealing song “skinny.”

The winner of American Idol will be announced on TONIGHT (Sunday 19th May).

Leave a comment

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑